Meet Emma.

31 Aug

Halloween 2010, Emma as Pineapple

Year: Junior

Major: Art History, Minors: English Literature and Classical Civilizations*

About me: The fact Agnes Scott’s colors are black and purple was a major factor in my college decision. I have mega-crushes on Cary Grant, Sandro Botticelli and Virginia Woolf. I will purchase any tchotchke from Ross as long as it is peacock themed. In my headcanon of my own life, I am the lovechild of Zooey Deschanel and Snow White. My all-time favorite song is “Hey Ya” by Outkast. I am known to have anxiety attacks over the Philadelphia Phillies.

Mythological Figure: For my identifying mythological figure, I chose Hestia. Hestia was one of the Olympians, though sometimes she gets removed for Dionysus. She is the goddess of the hearth and home, and always gets the sacrifice first at those in the home. Because she was always attending the hearth, poor Hestia didn’t go gallivanting about like all the other gods. But she was still really kickass. Because everyone has a home, she gets worshiped a whole lot.

How this relates to my goals this year: I am headed to Florence, Italy (!) during the spring semester. This is super exciting, but it also means I only get to live in the theme house for a semester. So during this fall semester, I really want to focus on the house. I want to take part in all the events we plan, and keep up with the blog. I also really want to stretch my roots deep here in Atlanta before I head off to Florence.  So in the terms of Hestia, I want to tend my own hearth. I want to spend as much time with my friends and family as possible and I want to experience everything at Agnes to the fullest. Part of this may be preparing for the realization that once I get back from Florence I only have one year left before I graduate. For me, this not only means one more year at Agnes, but also the possibility of only one more year in and around Atlanta, the only metropolitan center I’ve ever lived around.

*Subject to change. (I shouldn’t be able to say that as a junior, should I?)

Leave a Reply

