Meet Maddye.

31 Aug

Year: Junior

Major: Psychology

Aboard a tiger at Holiday World in Santa Claus, Ind.

About Me: I will wear anything that is nautical themed (yes, even this). The Spice Girls are still my favorite band and I eat more popcorn than what is healthy. I like owls.

Mythological figure: As our first activity, we were all supposed to choose a (Greek) mythological figure to serve as our “patron” figure for the year. Bonus points if they are somehow associated with your year-long goals, which we all set this week. I chose the goddess Hecate, who is the goddess of witchcraft and crossroads (more on the character of Hecate later). This selection was not so practical (I chose last) and is admittedly rather whimsical. Why Hecate? What the hell does this have to do with what I hope to accomplish this year?

Firstly, one of my goals is to become Willow Rosenberg (jk – already done). Like many people my age, I constantly changing. I find myself at a crossroads with every decision that I make, particularly with those related to my education. I recently (read: spring finals) decided to change my major from History to Psychology. This is both scary and exciting for me – I’m fascinated by Psych and all of the possibilities this path will give me, but I’m terrified of letting go of my plan. I hope that choosing this goddess who is symbolic of physical and metaphorical crossroads will help me stay level headed and make good decisions. And if it helps me to perfect my Patronus, even better.

Leave a Reply

